BUSAN, South Korea — The number of visitors continues to increase every year at Dong-A University Museum. The museum moved from Gudeok Campus to Bumin Campus in May 2009. The number of visitors almost doubled over those at Gudeok Campus. 21,799 people visited the museum in 2009, 26,256 in 2010, 34,813 in 2011 and 43,701 in 2012.
A large collection of artifacts including national treasures and cultural assets, easy accessibility, convenient facilities, and various experience programs are attracting more visitors to the museum.
Dong-A University Museum houses a collection of about 30,000 valuable academic artifacts, including 2 national treasures, 11 treasures, 20 Busan City tangible cultural assets and more.
The museum first opened on Gudeok Campus in November 1959, and then reopened at the (former) government building of the provisional capital located on Bumin Campus.
The museum building was first built as the Gyeongsangnam-do provincial government building in 1925 during the Japanese occupation and used as the provisional capital during the Korean War. Subsequently, it served as the Busan District Court and Busan Public Prosecutors’ Office. The building is registered as cultural property No. 41.
For more information, please visit their website at english.busan.go.kr/03culture/04_01.jsp
Source: Busan City News