System of a Down Headline Second Busan International Rock Festival Line-up Release

UPDATE: 6/10/19 — System of a Down’s show has been canceled. Find out why here.

The Busan International Rock Festival has released its second line-up for its festival which runs from July 27th through the 29th at Samnak Ecological Park.

System of a Down Headline the opening day

Formed in 1994, the band currently consists of Serj Tankian (lead vocals, keyboards), Daron Malakian (vocals, guitar), Shavo Odadjian (bass, backing vocals), and John Dolmayan (drums).

According to the Rock Festival website, the band achieved commercial success with the release of five studio albums, three of which debuted at number one on the US Billboard 200. System of a Down has been nominated for four Grammy Awards, and their song “B.Y.O.B.” won a Grammy Award for Best Hard Rock Performance in 2006.

The band went on hiatus in 2006 and reunited in 2010; since then, they have performed live occasionally despite having not released any new material since the Mezmerize and Hypnotize albums in 2005.

System of a Down sold over 40 million records worldwide, and their singles “Aerials” and “Hypnotize” have both reached number one on Billboard’s Alternative Songs chart.

They’ll be joined onstage on the opening Saturday by Nell, Romantic Punch, Jannabi, Adoy, Baek Yerin, Paper Planes, Cloudian, and Mocking Bullet.

You can check out the first line-up of musical acts here.

Tickets have been announced at 88,000 won for a two-day pass and are available from today at 2 p.m. on the festival’s website.

Haps Staff
Is there something you'd like to see featured in Haps? Drop us a line: [email protected]

Subscribe to our newsletter

Twice-weekly updates to your inbox

The Latest

broken clouds
25 ° C
25 °
25 °
88 %
75 %
26 °
27 °
28 °
26 °
28 °

Dine & Drink